Sudafed. Booze. A cell-phone. A pet. A hunting or fishing license. These are just a few of the items harder to purchase than a gun, The Wall Street Journal reports.
President Barack Obama is leading the push for tougher gun laws, following a wake of tragedies across the country including the shootings at Sandy Hook Elementary which killed 20 children and six adults.
Vice President Joe Biden held a round-table discussion about gun violence in January at Virginia Commonwealth University, saying “we cannot remain silent” on the issue.
What changes do you think Virginia should make in it's gun laws? Tell us in the comments.
Gun laws vary greatly from state-to-state and situation-to-situation. For example, "[f]ederal law requires that all licensed dealers conduct background checks, but the restriction doesn’t apply to private sales and some gun shows," The Wall Street Journal reports.
These are some of the gun regulations in the Commonwealth, according to the Virginia State Police website (direct quotes below).
- With the exception of machine guns, firearms are not registered in Virginia.
- A firearm may be carried openly in Virginia except where prohibited by statute.
- A person must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun. To purchase a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer, you must be at least 21 years of age, pursuant to federal law.
- Virginia law does not address age requirements for the purchase of ammunition. Federal law requires an individual to be at least 21 years of age to purchase handgun ammunition, and at least 18 years old to purchase rifle or shotgun ammunition.
- To privately sell a firearm, it is recommended that you safeguard information pertaining to the transaction such as the date the firearm was sold, the complete name and address of the buyer, and the make, model, and serial number of the firearm. The seller and buyer of a handgun must be a resident of the state in which the transfer occurs. Should the firearm ever be located at a crime scene, trace of the firearm will determine the licensed dealer who last sold the firearm and will identify the last buyer of the firearm. To have your name removed from this process, you may consider placing your firearm on consignment with a licensed dealer. This will also ensure that the firearm is transferred only to a lawfully eligible individual.
- The criminal history record information check required prior to the purchase of a firearm in Virginia is accomplished by a name check in conjunction with the purchaser's race, sex, and date of birth.
The Virginia Citizens Defense League (VCDL), a gun rights lobby, is tracking all gun related legislation facing the 2013 General Assembly.
UMW helps freshman honor slain Newtown neighbors (Jan. 18, 2013)
(Jan. 15, 2013)
Letter to the Editor: Striving for What is Reasonable (Dec. 28, 2012)
Virginia Educators Rebut Governor's Interest in School Staff Carrying Weapons (Dec. 22, 2012)
Gov. Bob McDonnell Reacts to Connecticut School Shootings (Dec. 14, 2012)
Find Fredericksburg Patch via: